Administration Offices


About Us
Tweed Shire

Tweed Shire covers 1303 square kms & adjoins the NSW shires of Byron, Lismore & Kyogle, with the NSW/Queensland border to its north where it divides the twin towns of Tweed Heads & Coolangatta. With 37 kms of natural coastline, wetlands & estuarine forests, lush pastoral & farm land, the entire basin of the Tweed River & mountainous regions contain three world-heritage listed national parks.

The centrepiece of the Shire is Mount Warning, where the sun first hits the Australian continent. The surrounding McPherson, Tweed, Burringbar & Nightcap ranges form the caldera of the fertile Tweed Valley. Prior to European settlement, the area was blanketed in sub-tropical forest & was home to the Nganduwal/Minjungbal people.

Our Vision

The Tweed will be recognised for its desirable lifestyle, strong community, unique character and environment, and the opportunities its residents enjoy.

Our Mission

Working with community and partners, provide leadership in facilitating and delivering services that manage growth sustainably; create opportunity; and enhance the value of our civic and natural assets for this and future generations.


Festivals & Events

Community Directory

Community & Cultural Planning

Community Services

Art Gallery


Kenya Mentoring Program

Parks, Sport & Rec.

Latest Proposals

Emergency Management

Noise Issues

Animal Regulations

Fireworks Events

Online Consult