Business Summary
Emergency & After Hours Service Only Water & Sewerage Breaks
About Us
Community Services

About Murray Shire

The magnificent Murray Shire sweeps across an area of 4,328km2, is home to some 7,000 residents and is located in the Southern Riverina, 800km south of Sydney and 205km north of Melbourne.

The Shire has a wealth of physical features including majestic sweeping plains; magnificent stands of Redgum forests and is almost totally surrounded by the mighty Murray River and its tributaries.

Moama is the main settlement in the Shire and is the gateway to this inland paradise. Mathoura is a quaint but progressive country town, still retaining its unique outback heritage. Other settlements include Bunnaloo and Womboota, each with a population of less than 100.

With tourism, industry and an idyllic rural lifestyle, Murray Shire is a growing region with much to offer.

About Us

The Council is a corporate body having perpetual succession. This means that while the membership of the Council (the nine (9) elected members) will vary from time to time, the actual operation of the Council will continue unaffected. The nine members of the Council are elected for a four (4) year term and carry out their duties under the provisions of the Local Government Act and Regulations.

Each year, a Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected by the members of the Council. The Mayor, as well as being Chairman of Meetings, represents Council when it is not in session. Simply stated, Council is the decision and policy making body, whilst Council staff are the means by which these decisions and policies are carried into effect.


Murray Shire is the fastest growing rural Shire Council in NSW with many drivers for growth.

For your convenience we have created quick links to some of the most popular pages on our site:

Library Services

The Central Murray Regional Public Library has two branches: the Mathoura Library and the Deniliquin Library (head office). The Mathoura Library is located in the Mathoura Visitor & Business Centre on the Cobb Highway.

The Central Murray Regional Public Library provides public library services for the residents of Murray Shire, Conargo Shire and Deniliquin Council.

Books are available for loan as well as videos, DVDs, talking books, magazines & newspapers. Internet access is also available.

Opening Hours - Mathoura

Mon to Fri: 9am to 5pm

Sat & Holidays: 10am to 2pm

Sun:11am to 3pm

23 Moama Street (PO Box 21), Mathoura NSW 2710

Phone: 03 5884 3730 Fax: 03 5884 3720