Justice Department of

Also known as
  • Appeals Tribunals - Victoria
  • Department of Justice
About Us

The Department of Justice contributes to a just and safe society by providing systems and services for the promotion and maintenance of rights and responsibilities and the resolution of disputes, for the benefit of the Tasmanian community.

We are committed to an engaged, diverse and inclusive workforce. Through our Diversity and Inclusion Project, we are building a supportive, inclusive and diverse workforce that works together to create change.


The Department is responsible to the following Ministers:

  • Elise Archer MP – Attorney-General, Minister for Justice and Minister for Corrections
  • Roger Jaensch MP – Minister for Planning
  • Peter Gutwein MP – Treasurer (Industrial Relations)
  • Sarah Courtney MP – Minister for Building and Construction

The Department

The Department of Justice provides services that maintain and promote rights and responsibilities, resolve disputes, and contribute to the aim of a safer and more inclusive society to benefit the Tasmanian community as a whole.

More information on the structure and operations of the Department is available in our Organisational Chart and Annual report.

Read our Feedback Policy to find out how to provide feedback about the Department’s services when you believe that we have failed to meet the Service Standards listed in the Policy, or that our facilities were not adequate.

Department of JusticeCorporate Direction 2018-19

The Department of Justice Corporate Direction 2018-19 (pdf, 113.5 KB) details our seven key priorities for 2018-19, as well as identifying our key stakeholders and outlining how we will manage our key strategic risks and issues.

If you would like to provide any feedback in relation to our Corporate Direction for 2018-19, please email Secretary@justice.tas.gov.au using the subject line “Corporate Direction 2018-19”.