About Us

Etheridge Shire is located in the heart of the Gulf Savannah Region and was originally founded in 1882 during the gold rush. The Shire comprises of the townships of Mt Surprise, Georgetown, Forsayth and Einasleigh and has a general population of almost 1000.

The Shire is approximately 39,920 square kilometres in size and is bordered by the Shires of Mareeba, Herberton, Dalrymple, Flinders, Richmond, Croydon and Carpentaria.

The administrative base for the Shire is located in Georgetown which services the rural, tourism and mining industries of the region.

Business Directory
  • Georgetown
  • Forsayth
  • Forms
  • Mt Surprise
  • Einasleigh

Visitors Information
  • Georgetown
  • Forsayth
  • Mt Surprise
  • Einasleigh
  • Publications
  • Buildings
  • Shire Maps

What We Do
  • Airdromes
  • Child Care
  • Cemeteries
  • Fees & Charges
  • Food & Hygiene Licences
  • Library/Info Centre
  • Local Laws
  • Parks & Sports
  • Rural Arts
  • Rates Brochure
  • Refuse
  • SES
  • Swimming Pool