About Us
Information about your Council

All about councils
Find out about what councils are, how they operate, what services they provide and how they plan for your area.

Rates and valuations
Find out who sets rates, how they are decided, and what types of rates and charges exist in Queensland.

Council's accountability to the community
Councils are accountable to you and the community.

Quick Links

Planning Scheme

The Central Highlands Regional Council currently has four current IPA Planning Schemes that are in force over the former local government land areas of Bauhinia, Duaringa, Emerald and Peak Downs. The Planning Schemes are statutory documents that set out Council's intention for each areas future development.

They contain information about the zoning of land, identify specific criteria for development in constrained areas and detail the provisions that relate to the development of land uses.

If you need to identify which of the four planning scheme applies to a particular site within the CHRC area please refer to the locality map.

Locality Map

Our Community

Select from the links below to view individual region information:

Note: In March 2008, the councils of Bauhinia Shire, Duaringa Shire, Emerald Shire and Peak Downs Shire amalgamated to form the Central Highlands Regional Council.

Additional Links